2017 OBAR Scholarship Recipients

2017 OBAR Scholarship Recipients

The Outer Banks Association of REALTORS® is excited to announce the 2017 annual scholarship recipients.

Since 1994, the Association and its REALTOR® and Affiliate Members have financially supported college scholarships to worthy local high school students. The program is administered by the Outer Banks Community Foundation. As of the 2015-16 school year, 119 students have received funding from the OBAR Scholarship Program totaling $209,631.

This year, Outer Banks Association of REALTORS® bestowed two $1,000 scholarships to Manteo High School students on May 15th, six $1,000 scholarships to First Flight High School students on May 16th, and two $1,000 scholarships to Cape Hatteras Secondary School students on May 31st.

The ten 2017 OBAR Scholarship recipients are Jenna Zottoli and Mackenzie Ulmer-Meekins from Manteo High School; Luke Potter, Caroline Pharr, Christian Eberhard, Thomas Scott, Dylan Owens and Samantha Surprenant were the winners from First Flight High School; finally, Caitlyn Setree and Gabrielle Sadler were the recipients from Cape Hatteras Secondary School.

First Flight High School OBAR scholarship recipient, Samantha Surprenant wasted no time expressing her thanks to the Association, sending a thank you note with the following expression earlier this week.

“I am extremely honored to be the recipient of the Outer Banks Association of REALTORS® Scholarship. You have no idea what this means for my future education endeavors!”

Funds for these scholarships were raised through the Outer Banks Association of REALTORS® Annual Scholarship Golf Tournament each June and Annual Surf Fishing Tournament each October, as well as through member donations. Thank you all for your donations and dedication to this annual project!

Community Involvement