OBAR Scholarship Fund

Since 1994, the Association and its REALTOR® and Affiliate Members have financially supported college scholarships to worthy local high school students. The program is administered by the Outer Banks Community Foundation.

As of the 2015-16 school year, 119 students have received funding from the OBAR Scholarship Program totaling  $209,631.

2012 was the first year the Stewart Couch Memorial Scholarship Fund awarded scholarships to Cape Hatteras Secondary School students.

The Association raises funds for these scholarships through community events such as the OBAR Surf Fishing Tournament, OBAR Golf Tournament and through member donations.

Your support of this worthwhile endeavor will help guarantee the continued funding of scholarships.

Please contact your school’s Guidance Department to sign up for the Programs.
Cape Hatteras Secondary School

48576 Hwy 12 • Buxton, NC 27920
Phone: 252.995.5730 Web: chs.daretolearn.org

First Flight High School

100 Veterans Drive • Kill Devil Hills, NC 27948
Phone: 252.449.7000 Web: ffh.daretolearn.org

Manteo High School

829 Wingina Avenue • Manteo, NC 27954
Phone: 252.473.5841 Web: mhs.daretolearn.org


Cape Hatteras High School
Caitlyn Setree – $1,000
Gabrielle Sadler – $1,000

First Flight High School
Luke Potter  – $1,000
Caroline Pharr – $1,000
Christian Eberhard – $1,000
Thomas Scott – $1,000
Samantha Surprenant – $1,000
Dylan Ownens – $1,000

Manteo High School
Jenna Zottoli – $1,000
Mackenzie Ulmer-Meekins – $1,000